On Air

Mornings with Derek and Bridget


KBA’s Station of the Year

23 November 2021 CFR Events Events Featured Heard On-Air

Christian Family Radio (CFR) has been named 2021 Station of the Year by the Kentucky Broadcasters Association (KBA). During it’s Annual Excellence in Broadcasting Awards, broadcasted November 22, a total of 15 awards were given across radio, TV, and technology categories. CFR’s “Mornings with Derek and Bridget” was also nominated in KBA’s best morning show category.

The Station of the Year award recognizes a radio station for overall service to its listenership with criteria based on public service and community involvement, entertainment values, thoroughness, production, promotions, listener interaction, digital, social, and overall delivery.

This type of recognition affirms our core value—that media should strengthen our community, and if
there ever was a time the community needs strengthening it’s now,” states Bridget Kehrt-Groce,
Executive Director of CFR. “It’s been exciting to be congratulated by colleagues across the nation who
are so grateful that a faith-based media outlet is receiving this type of recognition.” Of the 393 Kentucky-based radio stations, 97 are faith-based according to website radio-locator.com. “KBA has incredible members, so for our peers to value our work and single us out this way is truly a gift,” Kehrt-Groce shares.

Programming Director for CFR, Derek Gregory, remarks “After 2020, like most non-profits and organizations, we had to figure out how to do more with less staff, so we took the time to revisit our core mission and narrow our focus to do fewer things with more excellence. I’m incredibly proud of what we call ‘Team CFR’—our staff, donors, board members, volunteers, and listeners—because it took all of them to make a year like 2021 possible. Without everyone contributing in some way, this award isn’t possible.

This designation is not the only accolade CFR has received this year, having been named a top-three finalist for Small Market Station of the Year by the national organization Christian Music Broadcasters.